Deming cycle

Deming cycle is a tool for continuous improvement and it is a tool for an ongoing effort to improve products, services or processes. These efforts can seek “incremental” improvement over time or “breakthrough” improvement all at once. Among the most widely used tools for continuous improvement is a four-step quality model—the plan-do- check-act (PDCA) cycle, also known as Deming Cycle or Shewhart Cycle:

The four stages of PDCA/Shewhart Cycle or Deming Wheel are:


· Study & Document the existing process.

· Collect data to identify problems.

· Survey data and develop a plan for improvement.

· Specify measures for evaluating the plan.

2. DO

· Implement the plan on a small scale.

· Document any changes made during this phase.

· Collect data systematically for evaluation.


· Evaluate the data collection during this phase.

· Check how closely the results match the original goals of the plan phase.

4. ACT

· If the results are successful, standardize the new method and communicate the new method to all people associate with the process.

· Implement training for the new method.

· If results are unsuccessful, revise the plan and repeat the process or cease this project.

Deming cycle was developed to link the production of a product with consumer needs and focus the resources of all departments (research, design, production, and marketing) in a cooperative effort to meet those needs. The Deming Cycle proceeds as follows:

1. Conduct consumer research and use it in planning the product (PLAN).

2. Produce the product (DO).

3. Check the product to make sure it was produced in accordance with the plan (CHECK).

4. Market the product (ACT).

5. Analyze how the product is received in the marketplace in terms of quality, cost, and other criteria (ANALYZE).

Deming cycle

Previous Post
Next Post