Weaker Sections & Priority sector Lending - Commercial Banks

Weaker Sections
Priority sector loans to the following borrowers will be considered under Weaker Sections category:-
(a) Small and marginal farmers;
(b) Artisans, village and cottage industries where individual credit limits do not exceed ` 50,000;
(c) Beneficiaries of Swarnjayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana (SGSY), now National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM);
(d) Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes;
(e) Beneficiaries of Differential Rate of Interest (DRI) scheme;
(f) Beneficiaries under Swarna Jayanti Shahari Rozgar Yojana (SJSRY);
(g) Beneficiaries under the Scheme for Rehabilitation of Manual Scavengers (SRMS);
(h) Loans to Self Help Groups;
(i) Loans to distressed farmers indebted to non-institutional lenders;
(j) Loans to distressed persons other than farmers not exceeding ` 50,000 per borrower  to prepay their debt to non-institutional lenders;
(k) Loans to individual women beneficiaries upto ` 50,000 per borrower;
(l) Loans sanctioned under (a) to (k) above to persons from minority communities as may be notified by Government of India from time to time.
In States, where one of the minority communities notified is, in fact, in majority, item (l) will cover only the other notified minorities. These States/Union Territories are Jammu & Kashmir, Punjab, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Lakshadweep.
As per RBI Guidelines for Domestic commercial banks / Foreign banks with 20 and above branches:

Previous Post
Next Post